Are you vegetarian or vegan?
If so, you may want to skip the red wine with dinner, because red wine contains compounds called tannins. And when tannins interact with plant-based sources of iron, it prevents your body from absorbing the iron. That means you won’t get the iron benefits from vegetarian staples like lentils, soybeans, tofu, quinoa, spinach and brown rice. And it’s hard enough already for vegans and vegetarians to get the iron they need, because the body has a harder time absorbing iron from plant sources than meat. So skip the red wine with dinner to make sure you’re getting all the nutrients you need.